News Flash

Waukee Police Newsfeed

Posted on: December 17, 2018

Waukee Public Safety Staff Receive Sullivan Brothers' Award of Valor

valor award web

The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) hosted the annual Sullivan Brothers’ Award of Valor Ceremony on Monday, Dec. 17, 2018 at the State Capitol Rotunda. Governor Kim Reynolds and Iowa DPS Commissioner Roxann Ryan honored four Waukee public safety employees with the 2018 Sullivan Brothers’ Award of Valor. Fire Chief Clint Robinson, Firefighter/Paramedic Josh Hutton, Fire Inspector Justin Frederick and Police Sergeant Hector Arias were presented with the award for their heroism in attempting to save a life in June 2018.

On June 26, 2018, around 1:50 p.m., Westcom Communications received several 911 calls indicating that a vehicle traveling eastbound on Hickman Road had left the roadway and came to rest in a small pond. Callers indicated that they believed there was a single occupant in the vehicle and the car was submerged in the pond with the driver still in the vehicle. These four men were honored for their heroic actions performed during the rescue effort. 

See photos from the recognition ceremony.

Media coverage:
Des Moines Register

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Waukee Police Newsfeed